Scroll downfor the latest news

Max fourth fastest in Monaco FP1

Published on 27 May 2022 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen opened his Monaco Grand Prix weekend with fourth place in the opening practice session. Local hero Charles Leclerc was quickest in the Ferrari, with Max’ Oracle Red Bull Racing teammate Sergio Perez clocking the second fastest time around the streets of the principality. Leclerc’s Ferrari colleague Carlos Sainz completed the top three.

George Russell is the first driver out on track, whilst Max is the first to clock a lap time. Like all the other drivers that have ventured out, he does so on the hard Pirelli compound. The first competitive lap time is set by Daniel Ricciardo in the McLaren but for most of the afternoon Max and Leclerc battle for the title of pace setter.

The first red flag of the weekend follows Mick Schumacher’s car grinding to a halt at the entrance to the pits following a gearbox issue. Once the Haas is cleared, 36 minutes remain on the clock.

 At the halfway mark, Max re-joins the track on the set of hards he started the session on. He is still topping the charts but is soon demoted by Lando Norris, one of the first drivers to switch to the medium tyres.

With a third of the session left, Max heads out on a brand-new set of the medium Pirellis. Sainz and Lelcerc soon follow the Dutchman’s lead. Max betters his time on his first flying lap and goes first, but causes a yellow flag on his second attempt, after he flat spots his right front tyre, which forces him to return to the pits.

Both Ferraris and Perez do continue on their sets of mediums and ultimately usurp Max at the top of the leader boards with Leclerc posting the quickest lap of the session.

Contest GP Monaco: win a 1:4 Max Verstappen Brazilian GP 2021 helmet!


Results first free practice Monaco:

1Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:14.531 29
2Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:14.570+0.039s30
3Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:14.601+0.070s28
4Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:14.712+0.181s26
5Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:15.056+0.525s31
6Pierre GaslyGASAlphaTauri RBPT1:15.083+0.552s33
7Daniel RicciardoRICMcLaren Mercedes1:15.157+0.626s33
8George RussellRUSMercedes1:15.211+0.680s34
9Sebastian VettelVETAston Martin Mercedes1:15.387+0.856s33
10Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:15.499+0.968s29
11Yuki TsunodaTSUAlphaTauri RBPT1:15.536+1.005s36
12Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:15.539+1.008s26
13Fernando AlonsoALOAlpine Renault1:15.749+1.218s28
14Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:15.806+1.275s30
15Alexander AlbonALBWilliams Mercedes1:16.110+1.579s39
16Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:16.315+1.784s24
17Zhou GuanyuZHOAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:16.417+1.886s27
18Nicholas LatifiLATWilliams Mercedes1:17.714+3.183s30
19Mick SchumacherMSCHaas Ferrari1:18.636+4.105s12
20Valtteri BottasBOTAlfa Romeo Ferrari---2