Scroll downfor the latest news

Max quickest in Melbourne FP1

Published on 31 March 2023 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen topped the timing sheets after the first practice session of the Australian grand Prix. In a session marred by two red flags, the reigning champion was four tenths quicker than Lewis Hamilton in his Mercedes. Max’ Oracle Red Bull Racing team mate Sergio Perez completed the top three.

As the session gets underway, it is busy on track early on. Max is one of the drivers taking to the streets of Albert Park in Melbourne. Sporting the soft Pirelli tyres, he complains to the team about the up and down-shifts in the RB19. Nevertheless, the Dutchman sets the pace early on in the session.

As FP1 progresses, more drivers opt for the soft compound, resulting in the lap times dropping. Max remains quickest, despite still not being happy with the handling of his car. After clocking the quickest lap of the session (1:18.790) Max expresses his discontent with the rear brakes.

Halfway into the session, several drivers have near-misses, subsequently explained by a glitch in the GPS-system resulting in the teams being unable to inform the drivers of other cars in their vicinity. To address the issue, the session is red-flagged.

The problem is swiftly solved and ten minutes later the drivers head back out on track. Max does so on four new softs. With five minutes on the clock, Max spins on this set of the red side-walled Pirellis and informs the team these tyres are now a write-off.

The session ends under a red flag with Logan Sargeant’s Williams grinding to a halt in the final sector. It confirms Max in P1 at the end of FP1.

Contest Australian GP: win a by Max Verstappen signed World Champion 2022 cap!

Results first free practice Australia:

1Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:18.790 17
2Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:19.223+0.433s20
3Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:19.293+0.503s19
4Fernando AlonsoALOAston Martin Mercedes1:19.317+0.527s23
5Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:19.378+0.588s16
6Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:19.505+0.715s20
7Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:19.536+0.746s16
8Pierre GaslyGASAlpine Renault1:19.646+0.856s22
9George RussellRUSMercedes1:19.699+0.909s23
10Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:19.766+0.976s19
11Alexander AlbonALBWilliams Mercedes1:19.766+0.976s21
12Oscar PiastriPIAMcLaren Mercedes1:19.777+0.987s22
13Nico HulkenbergHULHaas Ferrari1:19.806+1.016s19
14Nyck De VriesDEVAlphaTauri Honda RBPT1:19.933+1.143s25
15Logan SargeantSARWilliams Mercedes1:20.074+1.284s21
16Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:20.175+1.385s20
17Yuki TsunodaTSUAlphaTauri Honda RBPT1:20.399+1.609s14
18Valtteri BottasBOTAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:20.419+1.629s21
19Zhou GuanyuZHOAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:20.569+1.779s22
20Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:21.147+2.357s17