Scroll downfor the latest news

Max second in Spain FP1

Published on 21 June 2024 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen started his Spanish Grand Prix weekend by setting the second quickest time in the opening practice session. McLaren’s Lando Norris lapped the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya quickest with Carlos Sainz completing the top three in his Ferrari.

The session gets underway in clear conditions with most team heading out straight away. Yuki Tsunoda (RB) and Sainz start their weekend on the wrong foot with the former’s rear wing clattering whilst using the DRS and the latter reporting power loss issues. Both return to their respective teams in the pits and are able to continue after a short stay in their boxes.

Meanwhile, Max heads out on the hard Pirellis tyres to clock his first laps of the afternoon. At the halfway mark, the Dutchman is quickest.

With less than half an hour to go, the first drivers head out on the soft Pirelli tyres. George Russell is the first driver to better his time, soon followed by Sainz. After the flurry of fast laps, Norris is quickest. The remaining third of the session is used predominantly for long runs to gather data for Sunday’s Grand Prix. It does mean that Norris remains at the top of leaderboard when the sessions ends, followed by Max and Sainz.

Contest GP Spain: win a by Max Verstappen signed Racing cap!


Results first free practice Spain:

1Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:14.228 26
2Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:14.252+0.024s26
3Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:14.572+0.344s30
4George RussellRUSMercedes1:14.614+0.386s30
5Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:14.692+0.464s27
6Oscar PiastriPIAMcLaren Mercedes1:14.867+0.639s28
7Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:14.911+0.683s27
8Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:15.086+0.858s29
9Fernando AlonsoALOAston Martin Mercedes1:15.222+0.994s25
10Alexander AlbonALBWilliams Mercedes1:15.417+1.189s24
11Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:15.434+1.206s25
12Valtteri BottasBOTKick Sauber Ferrari1:15.472+1.244s23
13Pierre GaslyGASAlpine Renault1:15.484+1.256s20
14Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:15.512+1.284s27
15Daniel RicciardoRICRB Honda RBPT1:15.580+1.352s29
16Zhou GuanyuZHOKick Sauber Ferrari1:15.616+1.388s23
17Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:15.644+1.416s29
18Logan SargeantSARWilliams Mercedes1:15.752+1.524s24
19Oliver BearmanBEAHaas Ferrari1:15.865+1.637s28
20Yuki TsunodaTSURB Honda RBPT1:15.916+1.688s20