Scroll downfor the latest news

Rain rules out competitive running in Silverstone FP1

Published on 01 July 2022 by Stefan Meens

Only ten drivers set a lap time in a rain-hit first free practice session of the British Grand Prix. Vatteri Bottas was quickest in the Alfa Romeo, with Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz completing the top three. Oracle Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen ventured out onto the Silverstone circuit in the closing minutes of the session, but a red flag prevented the Dutchman from clocking a time. 

FP1 starts with wet and cold conditions. Charles Leclerc is the first driver to leave the pits, with his Ferrari sporting the intermediate Pirelli tyre. Three other drivers also attempt to brave the elements; the two Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton and George Russell and Leclerc’s team mate Carlos Sainz. The latter is quickest among the early runners. 

After a long intermezzo during which the track stays quiet, Lewis Hamilton is the first driver to steer out of the pits with twelve minutes left on the clock. The Mercedes driver does so on slicks, the soft Pirelli compound to be exact. Vallteri Bottas follows suit and sets the quickest lap of the session. Soon after, the session is ended with a red flag after Lance Stroll parks his Aston Martin in the gravel traps. 

Contest British GP: win a by Max Verstappen signed RBR Driver Cap 2022! 

Results second free practice Great Britain:

1Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:28.942 28
2Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:29.105+0.163s21
3Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:29.118+0.176s29
4Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:29.149+0.207s18
5Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:29.404+0.462s25
6Fernando AlonsoALOAlpine Renault1:29.695+0.753s19
7Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:29.753+0.811s17
8George RussellRUSMercedes1:29.799+0.857s29
9Daniel RicciardoRICMcLaren Mercedes1:29.902+0.960s26
10Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:29.942+1.000s17
11Valtteri BottasBOTAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:30.000+1.058s29
12Sebastian VettelVETAston Martin Mercedes1:30.057+1.115s20
13Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:30.238+1.296s12
14Alexander AlbonALBWilliams Mercedes1:30.263+1.321s14
15Zhou GuanyuZHOAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:30.271+1.329s27
16Yuki TsunodaTSUAlphaTauri RBPT1:30.338+1.396s29
17Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:30.480+1.538s27
18Pierre GaslyGASAlphaTauri RBPT1:30.510+1.568s28
19Mick SchumacherMSCHaas Ferrari1:30.609+1.667s29
20Nicholas LatifiLATWilliams Mercedes1:31.326+2.384s27