Scroll downfor the latest news

Max ninth in rainy FP3

Published on 18 June 2022 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen finished the third practice session of the Canadian Grand Prix in ninth place. The Oracle Red Bull Racing driver completed just ten laps of a wet Circuit de Gilles Villeneuve. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) was quickest, ahead of Alpha Tauri’s Pierre Gasly and the Aston Martin of Sebastian Vettel.

Throughout most of Saturday, rain has been descending on the city of Montreal, resulting in wet and slippery conditions for the teams to tackle in FP3. In the first half of the session, a dozen drivers gingerly make their way around the Isle de Notre Dame street circuit on full wets.

Just after the halfway mark, Max makes his first appearance on track, also sporting the full wet tyre. After a single lap, the reigning champions returns to the pits.

Meanwhile, at the front, Sebastian Vettel, Carlos Sainz and Fernando Alonso are the first drivers to bolt on the intermediate Pirellis. The Alpine driver is the first to better his time on the other compound and goes fastest before Vettel steals the top spot back. In the end, it is Alonso who clocks the quickest time of the session (1:33.836).

With fourteen minutes on the clock, Max steers his RB18 out of the pits, again on the full wet tyre. Despite slipping and sliding, the Dutchman eventually tries the intermediates on which he sets his quickest time in FP3 (1:34.616). On his way to clocking his best effort, he spins and narrowly avoids the barrier.

Contest GP Canada: win a 1:4 Max Verstappen Miami GP 2022 helmet!

Results third free practice Canada:

1Fernando AlonsoALOAlpine Renault1:33.836 15
2Pierre GaslyGASAlphaTauri RBPT1:33.889+0.053s18
3Sebastian VettelVETAston Martin Mercedes1:33.891+0.055s18
4Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:34.003+0.167s16
5Daniel RicciardoRICMcLaren Mercedes1:34.110+0.274s14
6Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:34.248+0.412s13
7George RussellRUSMercedes1:34.259+0.423s11
8Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:34.498+0.662s10
9Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:34.616+0.780s10
10Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:34.778+0.942s18
11Valtteri BottasBOTAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:35.016+1.180s15
12Zhou GuanyuZHOAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:35.213+1.377s15
13Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:35.531+1.695s23
14Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:35.643+1.807s17
15Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:35.692+1.856s12
16Alexander AlbonALBWilliams Mercedes1:35.761+1.925s17
17Yuki TsunodaTSUAlphaTauri RBPT1:36.261+2.425s27
18Mick SchumacherMSCHaas Ferrari1:37.388+3.552s18
19Nicholas LatifiLATWilliams Mercedes1:38.394+4.558s11
20Charles LeclercLECFerrari---5