Scroll downfor the latest news

Verstappen second in final free practice at Spa-Francorchamps

Published on 27 August 2022 by Kees-Jan Koster

Max Verstappen finished the third free practice session for the Belgian Grand Prix in second position. The Dutchman did eighteen laps on the cloudy Spa-Francorchamps circuit and set a 1:45.184 as his fastest time. Teammate Sergio Pérez was quickest with a 1:45.047. Carlos Sainz for Ferrari completed the top three.

With a temperature of only fifteen degrees the third and final free practice session starts. The circuit is immediately busy and Max Verstappen also leaves the pitlane almost straight away. The leader in the world championship sets a 1:50.435 in his first timed lap, starting a long run on soft tyres. Max reports back to the team after almost twenty minutes.

With half an hour to go the top six is formed by Carlos Sainz, Alexander Albon, Charles Leclerc, Kevin Magnussen, Zhou Guanyu en Valtteri Bottas. Max Verstappen comes out again not much later. On a fresh set of soft tyres, the Oracle Red Bull Racing driver sets a 1:45.480, almost half a second faster than teammate Sergio Pérez, putting him in the lead. After this Verstappen returns to the pits.

With only ten minutes to go, Leclerc suddenly ends in the gravel trap at turn twelve. The Monegasque can continue without much damage to his car, but race control reacts too quick and the session is red flagged. At the time Max was on a warmup lap.

After a short delay the session is continued. Verstappen improves his time, going almost three tenths of a second faster and finished the session in P2, one and a half tenth behind teammate Sergio Pérez. Carlos Sainz, Lando Norris, Fernando Alonso and George Russell from the rest of the top six.

Contest Belgian GP: win a by Max Verstappen signed RBR winner cap! 

Results third free practice Belgium:

1Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:45.047 18
2Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing RBPT1:45.184+0.137s18
3Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:45.824+0.777s12
4Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:45.965+0.918s19
5Fernando AlonsoALOAlpine Renault1:46.061+1.014s15
6George RussellRUSMercedes1:46.071+1.024s18
7Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:46.120+1.073s11
8Sebastian VettelVETAston Martin Mercedes1:46.166+1.119s17
9Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:46.601+1.554s23
10Pierre GaslyGASAlphaTauri RBPT1:46.604+1.557s18
11Daniel RicciardoRICMcLaren Mercedes1:46.646+1.599s17
12Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:46.769+1.722s19
13Nicholas LatifiLATWilliams Mercedes1:46.811+1.764s19
14Alexander AlbonALBWilliams Mercedes1:46.836+1.789s19
15Valtteri BottasBOTAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:46.881+1.834s19
16Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:46.975+1.928s15
17Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:46.982+1.935s13
18Yuki TsunodaTSUAlphaTauri RBPT1:47.035+1.988s22
19Zhou GuanyuZHOAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:47.089+2.042s19
20Mick SchumacherMSCHaas Ferrari1:52.494+7.447s6