Scroll downfor the latest news

Max fastest after Saudi FP1

Published on 07 March 2024 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen was quickest in the opening practice session of the Saudi Arabia Grand Prix. Team mate Sergio Perez was third quickest, with Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso splitting the two Oracle Red Bull Racing drivers in second.

The weekend’s running gets underway in pleasant conditions; 27 degrees ambient and 41 degrees track temperature. In the opening quarter most driver venture out on track on the hard Pirelli tyres with Max clocking the third quickest time with his first effort. The Dutchman soon improves his lap and goes to P2 fifteen minutes into the session.

Meanwhile, Lance Stroll has a lucky escape with his Aston Martin only suffering mild damage after hitting the wall.

At the halfway point, Valtteri Bottas is the first driver to bolt on the soft Pirelli tyres. The Sauber driver’s example is soon followed by the other drivers and the laptimes drop quickly. On his first timed effort on the red sidewalled softs, Max goes quickest, before being toppled by George Russell in the Mercedes.

With twenty minutes to go, Max clocks the fastest lap of the session. The world champion does so on a set of used soft tyres before heading straight back to the pits. Both Perez and Alonso attempt to usurp Max at the top of the leaderboards but have to settle for second and third. In the final ten minutes, Max finishes his session with a 6-lap long run on a set of hard Pirellis.

Contest GP Jeddah: win a by Max Verstappen signed Racing cap!


Results first free practice Saudi Arabia:

1Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:29.659 23
2Fernando AlonsoALOAston Martin Mercedes1:29.845+0.186s24
3Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:29.868+0.209s22
4George RussellRUSMercedes1:29.939+0.280s22
5Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:30.030+0.371s23
6Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:30.164+0.505s23
7Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:30.231+0.572s25
8Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:30.236+0.577s20
9Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:30.580+0.921s17
10Alexander AlbonALBWilliams Mercedes1:30.747+1.088s25
11Valtteri BottasBOTKick Sauber Ferrari1:30.783+1.124s25
12Daniel RicciardoRICRB Honda RBPT1:30.917+1.258s24
13Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:30.945+1.286s26
14Logan SargeantSARWilliams Mercedes1:30.966+1.307s26
15Oscar PiastriPIAMcLaren Mercedes1:30.977+1.318s21
16Yuki TsunodaTSURB Honda RBPT1:31.036+1.377s24
17Pierre GaslyGASAlpine Renault1:31.046+1.387s24
18Zhou GuanyuZHOKick Sauber Ferrari1:31.131+1.472s23
19Nico HulkenbergHULHaas Ferrari1:31.411+1.752s18
20Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:31.577+1.918s17