Scroll downfor the latest news

Verstappen third in final free practice Monza

Published on 11 September 2021 by Kees-Jan Koster

Max Verstappen finished the second free practice session for the Italian Grand Prix in third position. The Dutchman did 23 laps on the 5.793 kilometre long Autodrome Nazionale Monza and set a 1:23.754 as his fastest time. Lewis Hamilton for Mercedes was fastest. Valtteri Bottas completed the top three of the by long runs characterised session.

Under an almost completely blue sky the second free practice session – which after the already completed qualifying is mainly characterised by long runs – gets underway. Nicholas Latifi, Sebastian Vettel and both Haas drivers are the first to leave the pits. Max Verstappen comes out on track after fifteen minutes. The Red Bull Racing driver starts his run on the softs and opens with a 1:24.006. Not much later he improves this time with almost three tenths.

Verstappen, like the other drivers, is steadily putting in laps, until it goes wrong for Carlos Sainz in Variante Ascari. The Spaniard loses control of his Ferrari and crashes hard into the tyre barriers. Sainz gets out of the car unharmed, a bit overwhelmed by the hit. With a little over thirty minutes to go the session is stopped. Verstappen has done ten laps up till then.

Ten minutes later the track is cleared and the teams continue their activities. This time Max comes out on medium tyres. Completing six laps on those, before coming in for a practice start. The Dutchman completes the session on the same set of tyres with a total of 23 laps. Lewis Hamilton is with a 1:23.246 the fastest, followed by Valtteri Bottas in second position. Sergio Pérez, Esteban Ocon and Robert Kubica complete the top six.

Contest Italian GP: win a by Max Verstappen signed 1:2 scale model 2020 helmet!

Results second free practice Italy:

1Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:23.246 25
2Valtteri BottasBOTMercedes1:23.468+0.222s24
3Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing Honda1:23.662+0.416s23
4Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing Honda1:23.917+0.671s29
5Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:24.263+1.017s20
6Robert KubicaKUBAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:24.280+1.034s28
7Antonio GiovinazziGIOAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:24.502+1.256s26
8Fernando AlonsoALOAlpine Renault1:24.539+1.293s16
9Pierre GaslyGASAlphaTauri Honda1:24.654+1.408s24
10Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:24.665+1.419s27
11Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:24.770+1.524s21
12Daniel RicciardoRICMcLaren Mercedes1:24.774+1.528s24
13Nicholas LatifiLATWilliams Mercedes1:24.805+1.559s23
14George RussellRUSWilliams Mercedes1:25.083+1.837s22
15Yuki TsunodaTSUAlphaTauri Honda1:25.422+2.176s32
16Nikita MazepinMAZHaas Ferrari1:25.729+2.483s23
17Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:25.763+2.517s28
18Sebastian VettelVETAston Martin Mercedes1:25.935+2.689s28
19Mick SchumacherMSCHaas Ferrari1:26.012+2.766s25
20Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:26.124+2.878s14